After being an Android fan for the past 6 years, I have finally made the switch to an iPhone. While Android and iPhone apps are mostly the same, I couldn’t figure out which free Twitter would work best. I used TweetDeck on my Sidekick 4G and absolutely loved it. I loved the push notifications and the simplicity of the layout. I have searched all over the web to find the perfect Twitter app for the iPhone and decided… why hasn’t someone already done this? I have made a list of reviews of the top Twitter clients on the iPhone.

 

Twitter, Inc.

This is Twitter’s own app they created for the iPhone that I first started using when I got my iPhone. It’s okay but I couldn’t seem to get the notifications to pop up in my notification bar which is a little frustrating.

Design & Layout: 10/10

Push Notification: 4/10

Ads: 7/10

Overall: 8/10

 

Tweetdeck

Again, I used this on my Sidekick and loved it. I love the design, the notification options and the ability to use multiple accounts very easily. The iPhone app is lacking quite a bit… enough to say I probably won’t be using this app now that I have an iPhone. Even though it doesn’t have any ads that I have seen so far, it lacks utilizing the full size of the new iPhone 5 screen and doesn’t have options for notifications. Feels like there is something missing. I would love for the developers to work on this and to give it another shot in the future.

Design & Layout: 10/10

Push Notification: 0/10

Ads: 10/10

Overall: 6/10

 

Twitterific

Similar in appearance to Tweetdeck, Twitterific is very user friendly and is a very smooth working app.  It does have a large square add on the top but is made to look like a tweet in your timeline so it isn’t as jarring to the eye. I hate the green color bar at the top of the compose window – why that color? Maybe I’m being picky but it seems a lot of elements were thrown together without much thought on design. It has my favorite hompage of all the Twitter apps where you can view trending tops, mentions, directs and lists and search Twitter.

Design & Layout: 8/10

Push Notification: 8/10

Ads: 6/10

Overall: 5/10

 

TweetCaster

Has the ad bar at the bottom near the home, direct and mention buttons. The ads are quite ugly and not integrated into the app well in my opinion. Very easy and user friendly. Can tweet from multiple accounts very easily which is a nice feature.

 

Design & Layout: 8/10

Push Notification: 0/10

Ads: 4/10

Overall: 7/10

 

Seesmic

It has the ad bar in the same place as TweetCaster which is not my favorite. This is a powerful app if you would like all of your updates in the same place from FourSquare, Facebook and Twitter. I like having them separate and in their own individual apps, it’s just preference I suppose!

 

Design & Layout: 9/10

Push Notification: 0/10

Ads: 8/10

Overall: 7/10

